The National Curriculum for Computing has been developed to equip young people with the skills, knowledge and understanding of computing that they will need for the rest of their lives.

The core of computing is computer science, in which pupils are taught the principles of information and computation, how digital systems work, and how to put this knowledge to use through programming. Building on this knowledge and understanding, pupils will be able to use information technology to create programs, systems and a range of content. Computing also ensures that pupils become digitally literate – able to use, express themselves and develop their ideas through ICT.

Our Computing Scheme of Work has half termly units for each year group. These cover:

Planning, writing and testing computer programs

Computational thinking

Creating and refining content using digital tools

Using and understanding the internet, the web and search engines,

effectively and safely

Using computers and the internet for communication and collaborative projects

Collecting, analysing, organising and presenting data/information.

In the Early Years Foundation Stage, the pupils will develop their computing skills through a wide range of creative activities/experiences that cover the prime and specific areas of learning and development and build on the skills they are bringing with them at the start of their learning journey.

We believe that e-Safety awareness and safe practice are of vital importance. As such, they are firmly embedded in all areas of our Scheme of Work.

Click on the link below for the National Curriculum Computing programmes of study (Key Stages 1 and 2).

National Curriculum Programmes of Study

Please see information on safely using “You Tube” for parents from National OnLine Safety:


Other useful guides from National OnLine Safety:

National OnLine Safety Tips for Children Nov 2019

NOS May Guide – “Discord”
Fortnite Chapter 2 Guide for Adults